Pumpkins and Princesses, Witches and Werewolves

When I was three, I won the costume contest at St. John’s Day School’s Fall Festival. I know this because my mother reminds me every year. She made the clown costume that clinched the prize, and I’m relatively certain it is one of her proudest accomplishments. (Seriously.) 

I say that to say- I know costume contests are a big deal. Partly for the little witches and warlocks and Harry Potters. Mostly for the moms, dads and crafty grandparents whose time, sweat and money made those tiny costumes. 

Tonight I judged the McWillie Elementary costume and pumpkin contests. 

Brutal!! I could see my mother’s face in the eyes of all of those parents who stayed up all night getting their little one’s outfit ready. I wanted to give every parent and every child a trophy. But I could pick just one winner. A tiny Raggedy Ann. 

She looked about 3. Not quite sure what all the fuss was about. Reluctant to accept her grand prize. The best kind of winner. 

She probably won’t remember this night years from now. But her mother will:) 

One thought on “Pumpkins and Princesses, Witches and Werewolves

  1. Megan,those pumpkins were amazing!
    My hat’s off to all the mothers that worked so hard making the costumes . Plus all of the other things that go into making such an event possible.
    They picked the right person to judge the event!

    Like

Leave a Reply

